Musical Director - Ralph Williams


Ralph Williams was born in Rhymney in 1940 and apart from the three years spent in teacher training, has lived in Rhymney all his life. He was educated at Rhymney Grammar School and St. Lukes College, Exeter. He became a teacher at the Rhymney Grammar School/Comprehensive School in 1966 and remained there until his retirement in August 1997.

He has been involved in the musical activities of Rhymney since he was a child. He was conductor of the Rhymney Ladies Choir from 1966 until 1973 and has long links with the Rhymney Silurian Male Choir. He joined them as a schoolboy in 1958 and learned much from the then conductor, the late Mr. Glynne Jones.

In 1969 he was appointed as the Choir's conductor and over the years has been successful in numerous eisteddfodau and has taken the Choir on concert tours to many European countries. He was the founder of the Rhymney Millenium Choral in 2000.


Accompanist - Mr Jason Childs BA LRSM


As a native of Tredegar, Jason began his musical career as a brass player studying baritone and trombone. He then took up the piano. These studies enabled him to gain a BA degree in music and an LSRM - Licentiate of the Royal Schools of Music.

He is currently organist at St George's Church in Tredegar and also at St James's Church in Tredegar where he has been organist for over sixteen years.

As well as being the new accompanist for the Silurians he has been the accompanist of Rhymney Millennium Chorale for three years and the accompanist of Ebbw Vale and District Ladies Choir who frequently draw on his skills as organist and pianist.

Throughout his life Jason's passion and commitment to the performing arts has enabled him to gain a wealth of experience in the orchestral, brass band and wind band genres. His ability as organist gave him the opportunity to become organ scholar at St Giles Church in Reading.

Jason is delighted in his appointment as accompanist to the Rhymney Silurian Male Choir. 

Deputy Musical Director - Dr. Iestyn Harding


A native of Rhymney, Iestyn showed early musical promise with his membership of the Rhymney Band under the late Richard Nash. Progress continued on the trombone culminating with membership of the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain. He gained his B.Mus. from the Guildhall School of Music where he studied with Simon Willis and Eric Crees, winning the Harry Mortimer Brass Band Prize.

Iestyn moved back to Rhymney in 1998 and joined the Silurians as a chorister. In 1999 he was employed by the Caerphilly County Borough Council as a peripatetic music teacher whilst achieving a distinction in his M.A. from Bristol University. 2009 saw Iestyn achieve his Ph.D whilst studying with Geoff Poole at Bristol.

As a composer, Iestyn has had music performed by BBC National Orchetra of Wales, COMA, Endmion, Four Counties Youth Orchestra, IXION, Okeanos, the Schubert Ensemble, the Silurians and the Welsh Sinfonia.

In 2004 Iestyn was appointed as Deputy Musical Director of the Rhymney Silurian Male Choir. 

Iestyn currently works as a primary school teacher and is in demand as an adjudicator. 


                                               Executive Committee

Honorary President - Elwyn Morgan MBE

Chairman - Brian Roberts  

Honorary Secretary - F Bernard Jenkins      

Vice Chairman - Stephen Rees

Treasurer - Pam Jenkins

Transport Officer - Kevyn Price

Public Relations Officer - Michael Jones

Registrar - Brian Roberts

Committee Members -  Tim Jones, Malcolm Thomas

Stage Manager - Wayne Hopkins         

Librarian - Huw Jones

Web Site Administrator - Michael Jones

Memorial Roll of Honour

Mr. Harry Breen , Mr Denis Buckley, Mr. Percy Caswell, Mr. Bert Cumstone, Mr Terry Davies. Mr. David Edwards, Mr. David Jones, Mr. Glynne Jones, Mr. Tom E. Owen, Mr. Ellis Davies, Mr. Mel Davies, Mrs. Myfanwy Jones, Mr. Havard B. Jones, Mr. Geraint M. Morris, Mr. Tudor Richards, Mr. Richard H Roberts, Mr. D Neil Protheroe, Lyndon Southgate. Mr. Ralph Thomas.

Life Members:

Mr. Ken Birch, Mrs. Maureen Dallimore, Mr Bernard F Jenkins, Mr. Ben Jones,  Mr. Alun Moseley, Mr. Brian Roberts, Mr. Brian Russell, Mr. Neville Shepherd, Mr Ralph Williams.

Current Members Of The Choir:

First Tenors:  Wayne Barter, Ken Baynham, Glyn Cummings, Michael Jones, Michael Lewis, Steven Lewis, Neil Stephens.

Second Tenors:  Terry Baker, F. Bernard Jenkins, Stephen Rees, Dawson Williams, Chris Britton, Bill Evans, Jeremy Davies.

First Bass:  Peter Bell. Iestyn Harding, Ellis Lewis, Wayne Hopkins, Alun Williams

Second Bass:   Huw Jones, Tim Jones, Kevyn Price, Brian Roberts, Neville Shepherd, Malcolm Thomas, Paul Thomas

New Choristers:

The Choir wishes to extend a warm Silurian welcome to three new choristers;

Peter Bell - First Bass 

Neil Stephens - First Tenor

Jeremy Davies - Second Tenor.